Ten most outstanding students of the Philippines

Ten most outstanding students of the Philippines were awarded by President Benigno Aquino III in the Heroes Hall in Malacañang on Thursday, August 2.

  • Kenneth Isaiah Abante (Cum laude, BS Management Engineering, Ateneo de Manila University)
  • Angelita Bombarda (Bachelor of Science Major in Psychology, De La Salle University)
  • Jerome David (BS Industrial Management Engineering, De La Salle University)
  • John Michael Dellariarte (Magna cum laude, Political Science; Doctor of Medicine, Ateneo de Zamboanga University School of Medicine)
  • Daniel Philip Dy (Cum laude, BS Business Administration, Ateneo de Naga University)
  • Jay-R Mendoza (Magna cum laude, BS Education Major in Mathematics, University of Rizal System)
  • Ruthell Moreno (Summa cum laude, Bachelor in Special Education, West Visayas State University)
  • Maria Janua Polinar (Magna cum laude, BA Political Science, Central Mindanao University)
  • Kurt Gerrard See (Suma cum laude, BS in Applied Economics, De La Salle University)
  • Juan Carlo Tejano (Magna cum laude, BA Political Science, University of the Philippines – Diliman)


TOSP 2012. This year’s set of awardees represents the “Bayani” student who despite the demands and pressures of higher education, endeavors to serve the country and people. Photo by Ryan Lim/ Malacañang Photo Bureau

Bravo to all of them and may they continue to inspire other students and youth to persevere and attain for a good life thru education.

but what is a TOSP all about?
Here it is..

History of the Ten Outstanding Students of the Philippines

He paved the way for nation-building when he did all that he can for his countrymen – from publishing books and poems to awaken their consciousness to the occurrences during the Spanish Era to physically serving those who were fortunate enough to have met him during his short life. He died by firing squad, not for naught. He is Jose Rizal, the inspiration behind the Ten Outstanding Students of the Philippines (TOSP), a search founded by businessman Jose Concepcion, Jr., while he was still publishing Student Life Magazine.

Mr. Concepcion, in his desire to honor students who are exemplars and leaders in their own academic fields and in their contributions to society, established TOSP on June 19, 1961, the 100th birthday of Dr. Jose Rizal, the embodiment of a model student who not only achieves academic citations, but also gives of himself to those in need. The Search was held annually until Martial Law was declared in 1972.

That was not the end of the road for TOSP though, for 1989 saw the re-launch of the Search with what has now been referred to as the revival batch. From then on, it has continued to celebrate, affirm, and champion the noble and enduring spirit of the Filipino youth who serves as a role model of academic excellence, exemplary leadership, good moral values, and socio-civic consciousness.

Mr. Concepcion’s vision of recognizing young role models became a continuing project of the RFM Foundation, Inc., the Commission on Higher Education, and the RFM Corporation, in cooperation with National Bookstore, the Rotary Club of Makati Central, and the TOSP Alumni Community. Recently, the PLDT also joined the growing list of TOSP partners – people who believe in the capacity and potential of the Search and its finalists and awardees to galvanize the youth into action.

Indeed, from its roots in 1961 to the present year, the Search has become a laboratory of leaders, producing outstanding contributors in the fields of governance, business, the academe, church and civil society. Among them are Cecille Guidote-Alvarez, Dr. Patricia Licuanan, Bishop Antonio Ledesma, SJ, Edna del Val Zapanta-Manlapaz, Atty. Rene Saguisag, Raul Roco, Sonia Malasarte-Roco, Vicky Pineda-Garchitorena, Atty. Dong Puno, Soledad Aquino-Hernando, Sec. Ramon del Rosario, Paco Sandejas, and Fr. Manoling Francisco, SJ. They have made a difference in their respective fields of influence.

Nonetheless, the alumni of the younger batches are also slowly but surely carving their niches in the circles where they move – contributing time and energy to creative positive ripples that may someday turn into great waves of positive change and enlightenment.

Indeed, there are many more regional and national finalists and awardees all over the globe who have done much for their fellowmen. From contributing to breakthrough researches in various fields and conducting capacity-building workshops involving different nations to helping students learn their lessons and deal with life’s challenges, the TOSP alumni have done it all for the purpose of living and spreading the TOSP Credo – learning, leading, and serving for life.

TOSP will once again be celebrated, affirmed and inspired this year and the years to come by shining examples of today’s youth as they continue to seek and galvanize their peers for nation-building.

Meanwhile the 30 national finalists are the following:

Kenneth Isaiah Abante, BS Management Engineering, Ateneo de Manila University
Michael Angelo M. Abarcar, BS Accountancy, University of Southern Philippines Foundation
Jufran C. Agustin, BS Education-English, Leyte Normal University
Randell T. Aranza, AB Mass Communication and BS Business Administration, University of St. LaSalle
Ramon Matthew Barsabe, BS Nursing, Cebu Doctors’ University
Nesie Fe Binatero, BS Education-English, Bohol Wisdom College
Angelita Bombarda, BS Psychology, De La Salle University Manila
Ma. Clarissa Lavena Bombase, AB Political Science, University of Nueva Caceres
Bobby Caceres, BS Marine Engineering, Maritime Academy of Asia and the Pacific
Aliza Castro, BS Nursing, Benguet State University
Jerome David, BS Industrial Management Engineering, De La Salle University Manila
Lawrence Charlemagne David, BS Electronics Engineering, Bataan Peninsula State University
John Michael Dellariarte, Doctor of Medicine, Ateneo de Zamboanga University
Joshua Eleazar Domen, BS Information Technology, St. Paul University Dumaguete
Daniel Philip Dy, BS BA Business Management Honors Program, Ateneo de Naga University
Marville Cullen Espago, BS Marine Transportation, Maritime Academy of Asia and the Pacific
Cesar Higoy Jr., BS Civil Engineering, St Louis University
Benny Mart Hiwatig, BS Education-English, De La Salle Lipa
Ma. Shiril Jalad-Armero, Doctor of Medicine, Southwestern University
Ridwan Landasan, AB International Studies, Xavier University – Ateneo de Cagayan
Jay-R Mendoza, BS Education-Mathematics, University of Rizal System
Ruthell Moreno, BS Special Education, West Visayas State University
Reynaldo Nalliw, BS Nursing, Ifugao State University – Main
Maria Janua Polinar, AB Political Science, Central Mindanao State University
Danilo Rogayan Jr., BS Education-Biological Science, Ramon Magsaysay Technological University – Zambales
Kurt Gerrard See, BS Applied Economics, De La Salle University – Manila
Mitz Serofia, BS Nursing, West Visayas State University
Michiko Takemori, BS Biology, De La Salle Lipa
Juan Carlo Tejano, BA Political Science, University of the Philippines – Diliman
Mark Gil Tuazon, BS Information Systems, Mary the Queen College – Pampanga

God bless all the Filipino students and their parents who work hard for them as well as their educators who facilitates learning for them.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s